We’ve been in San Antonio for going on three years now and, as anyone familiar with the military knows, three years means it’s time to move on.  We have our orders and we’re packing up the family truckster and heading west to Arizona.  Ryan will be attending a 5-6 month long course at Fort Huachuca.  The town right outside the post is called Sierra Vista.  We’ll be an hour and a half south of Tucson, thirty minutes north of Nogales, Mexico, and 315 miles west of El Paso, Texas.  While I’m a little excited and anxious to see what new adventures this move will hold for our family, I am sad to be leaving the friends I’ve made here and the best city the Army has ever put a post, San Antonio, Texas.

My friend, Emily of Defining Delicious, suggested that I make a list of favorites. I thought that was a great idea, so here we go.


My favorite things about San Antonio…in no particular order:

  • The Monterey
  • il Sogno
  • The Pearl Brewery
  • The River Walk
  • Lūke
  • Southtown
  • Zinc Bistro
  • The Alamo
  • Mission Trail
  • ¡¡FIESTA!!
  • Tubing the Guadalupe and/or Comal Rivers
  • Close to Gruene, New Braunfels, the outlets at San Marcos & a short drive to Austin
  • Central Market
  • Historic Preservation
  • Birthplace of Tex-Mex Cuisine
  • Focus on the arts
  • Diversity
  • Several farmers markets
  • Burgeoning food truck scene

I’m sure once I post this, I’ll think of a dozen more things that I love about this city.

Living here for the past three years has been a tremendous lot of fun.  I can definitely see why so many veterans choose this area when they retire…it’s definitely on our list!

Wish us luck on our new endeavour!

