Inspired by one of my favorite bloggers, Paloma (a fellow Houston girl) at La Dolce Vita, I thought it might be fun to figure out and list the 10 things I can’t live without.

In no particular order:

Ryan: We met online almost 9 years ago (it will be 9 years on February 8), got engaged in March 2003 and married on November 15, 2003.  He’s the friend of my soul, the best father I’ve ever seen and although we’ve spent a lot of time apart because of the Army, I believe we’ve grown closer because of the absences.

. . . .

Aidan:  My mini-me, my princess, my genius, my wild woman.  How is it she’s only been in my life four and a half years and already she takes up so much space?  She and her daddy are my life.

. . . .

Books:  I learned to read at age 3 (thanks Mom and Sesame Street) and have been an avid reader/bibliophile ever since.   If I’m bored, I don’t do well if I don’t have something to read.  I crave books like food and consume them, devour them, when I find great ones.  My baby has just learned to read.  Her daddy, her grandmommy, her schools and I have been working with her and she’s just recently started sounding out words and I love seeing how it has opened up a whole new world for her.

. . . .

Technology (My computer, iPhone, GPS):  I teach it, I use it, I was raised around it.  What can I say? I love it!  In all honesty, I am what we educational technology people call a “technology native.”  My class got its first computer in 2nd grade.  Our elementary school got a Mainframe WICAT Lab in 3rd grade where I learned typing.  We got a home computer, an “IBM Clone”, when I was in 4th grade.  I started typing my papers to hand in, in 5th grade, using Wordstar.  Lets just say it was love at first “tap”.  😉

. . . .

My family:  I’m crazy about my family.  My brother and I were very close growing up.  My mom is one of my dearest friends.  My mother’s family means the world to me and I try to spend as much time with them as possible.

. . . .

Sweet tea:  When I left Texas for Georgia I was a Dr Pepper fiend.  Three years later, I came home completely addicted to Southern-style sweet tea.  It’s all I drink.  The sweeter the better.  Actually, there’s a reason for this.  I’ve had pretty bad migraines for most of my life.  While we were at Ft. Benning, my doctor put me on Topamax to help prevent them.  The Topamax greatly affected the way carbonated beverages taste to me.  So, I switched from Dr Pepper to sweet tea.  (I’m a purist, though.  No lemon and certainly no frou-frou mint!)

. . . .

Air conditioning:  I live in Texas and CANNOT survive without it.  Literally.

. . . .

Having a purpose in life:  Newton’s First Law of Motion states “An object at rest will remain at rest until acted upon by an outside force.  Conversely, an object in motion will remain in motion until acted upon by an outside force.”  This law is typically known as the “Law of Inertia.”  I am that object that Newton is speaking of.  If I don’t have a purpose, that “outside force” acting on me, I have a tendency to just stay at rest.  I am highly susceptible to inertia.  If you give me a job, a goal, a purpose, have an “outside force” act upon me, I will work from sun up to sun down.  I just need a purpose.

. . . .

Friends:  When I graduated from high school, I left my hometown and never looked back.  Prior to Facebook, there were very few people from there that I ever spoke to.  When I got to college, I lived on campus and got involved in the Residence Hall Association.  There I met the best friends you could ever hope to have.  We’ve traveled all over the country to attend and be in one another’s weddings.  We get together whenever we can.  We write, we talk on the phone, we text and exchange gifts.  My three best friends are gifts from God and I am so grateful for them.

. . . .

Tradition:  I love tradition.  Tradition in cultures, traditions at colleges & universities, traditions within families.  I thrive on it.  Maybe it’s because there’s so much change in my life elsewhere, I cling to the consistency of tradition.

