I love, love, love having my beautiful home to decorate for Christmas.  After 3 long years of the absolute bare minimum, it has really been nice to be able to create a festive environment for my family.  I’m proud of how my home looks and wanted to share it with as many people as possible so I’m linking up with the home tours on Southern Hospitality, Hooked on Houses, and The Nesting Place.         

The Dining Room

This is the first room you see as you walk into the house.  The theme is “A Lone Star Christmas”.  On the front window, using Nester’s garland instructions, I created a Texas-themed garland.

It has a cotton boll garland woven into it and I wired Texas-themed ornaments into it.

The centerpiece on my table is an oil-rubbed bronze bucket with cotton bolls from a cotton patch next door to my grandparents’ house in West Texas.  I put a star-shaped branding iron on top.  The red stars are tealight holders hanging from the chandelier that I bought in Fredericksburg.

On the china cabinet is my Christmas tassel from The Tassel House on Etsy and cowboy tree from Rhinestone Angel in Flatonia.  That’s also where I got most of my Texas ornaments.

This is our Cowboy Santa Claus Christmas countdown calendar.  Aidan loves moving the horse closer and closer to Christmas.  I found this at the big quilt store (I can’t remember the name) on Main St. in Fredericksburg.  I knew it would be perfect in my Lone Star Christmas dining room.

The Entry Hall

Across from the dining room is the entry hall where my Santas live.

 

The taller Santa is made out of an antique ceiling tin.  I found it a year or two ago at Angel’s Antiques in Opelika, Alabama.  I have no idea where the fat Santa came from…I didn’t even remember I had it until I unpacked it.  Ever have any decorations like that?

The Dividing Wall

 When I decided to go with a theme tree I was faced with the conundrum of what to do with my keepsake ornaments we’ve been collecting over the years.  I found an ornament tree on the  Brylane Home website (which is no longer available) so I ordered it to display my keepsakes.

I have it on the dividing wall between the living room and dining room.

An ornament from Ryan’s grandmother for Aidan’s first Christmas.

I got this one from Hallmark for my late, precious, beloved Granddaddy who passed away in 2008.

 

This ornament is from our first Christmas at Fort Benning, 2006.

And this one is for the Christmas that Ryan was deployed, 2007.

Finally, this one is for this year and our new house.

The Playroom

Aidan loves pink and ballet, so it was only natural that I create a tree for her out of  the white tree that I was given when I organized the rummage sale at my old school in Georgia.  I found the cutest, most perfect ornaments for her at Hobby Lobby, from a line appropriately called “Sugar Plum.”  She loved seeing the ornaments, decorating her tree and especially showing it to her cousin and grandmother.

She decorated (and has since redecorated it repeatedly) so it’s a little bottom heavy.  She loves this tree so much!  She turns the lights on as soon as she gets up and looks at all her ornaments.  Too cute!

A few of my favorite ornaments on there.

     

  

 

Ryan and I made this sign to go up in the playroom.  I probably should’ve turned the lights on on her tree when I took this picture…oops!  I saw a sign like this on Etsy and thought, Ryan and I can make this.  I started painting it, I did the pink, all of the pencil lettering, the ribbon and “I’m dreaming of” and Ryan did the rest of the words and drilled the holes.  Quite a family effort huh?  I’m pretty proud of it.  🙂  Aidan loves it.

Hanging on Aidan’s door is this little pillow with a little pocket on it.  I’m thinking about replacing the red ribbon with a pink one so it goes with the upstairs theme.

 The Living Room

Finally, we get to the living room.

 

Let’s face it, I LOVE feathers.  I’d wrap myself in them if it were socially acceptable.  😉  Sadly, most feather wreaths are pretty expensive.  When I found this beauty at Homestead Handcrafts I knew it would match my tree.  Then when I saw that it was $18!  Oh man, I grabbed that baby up in a heartbeat!  I hung it on my iron wall hanging and I love looking at it from my chair in the living room.

I made these stockings last year when we were at Ft. Benning.  This year, since we still don’t have a mantle (I will have one some day!),  I found a great wrought iron stocking holder online.  I love the shape of the holder and it sits under the iron wall hanging.  After Christmas I’ll probably figure out a way to continue using it.

Ryan and I got this porcelain Mikasa Holy Family figurine set as a wedding gift six years ago.  It is one of the only things that I have ALWAYS put out regardless of where we’ve celebrated the holiday, where we’ve lived or if Ryan has been home or at school or in Iraq.  Aidan loves looking at Baby Jesus and says He’s so cute.

Here’s our Christmas tree.  I love it so much and am so proud of how it turned out!  It’s a 7 ft. tall synthetic pre-lit tree that I got at Garden Ridge.  It’s tall and skinny and fits perfect in the space.  I got green and rich royal red ornaments to go on it.  To finish off the look I added red glitter branches.  I love how it looks!  Ryan and Aidan keep harping on me that it needs a star but I like the green sequined upshoot thingamajig thing.

I hope you enjoyed your tour of our home!  Merry Christmas y’all!

