Very, very, very late last night I finished Aidan’s costume.  Her school had a Halloween costume parade and party this morning so I had to get it finished, no if, ands, or buts.  When she woke up this morning she was SO excited to get to see it and put it on, it was almost like Christmas.

Here she is in the parade.  Her Daddy made the mask, we bought the wings (which came with the antennae) and I made the dress (which is the yellow part under the vest) and the vest.  I wasn’t planning on her wearing the black leotard but it was chilly here this morning so she had to wear something to keep her arms warm.

When we got home from school, there was a Monarch Butterfly flitting around our front yard.  Aidan went nuts and got so excited.  I think if she hadn’t been so excited it might’ve landed on her.  Everytime we’re outside, butterflies come near her but she gets so excitable that they never land.

Here are the specifics.  I used McCall’s 4887.  I bought the fabrics from JoAnn’s.  The black tulle was stiffer (and left black glitter everywhere!) than the orange and yellow so it made the skirt stand out.  It also made it almost impossible to get the elastic through the casing so I wound up using grosgrain ribbon to cinch up the waistband.

This was definitely the most intricate and difficult costume I’ve made.  I’m proud of it and I know Aidan loves wearing things I’ve made for her, especially costumes.  When I asked her who had the best costume at school she said “I did!”  Not so great with the humility but it made Mama feel good!

Mama’s taking a bit of a sewing break for a day or two (probably till Tuesday), then I’m coming back with some Portabello Pixie Rufflepants, and some Pink Fig Patterns I just got.  I’ll sew those up in some new Pillow & Maxfield fabric in the pink & green colorway.  Hopefully I can hang onto those to give them as Christmas presents.

