Aidan, my friend Shelley, and I went to the Lavender Festival in Blanco, TX, today.  It was HOT out there!  We ate at a new restaurant on the square there called The Redbud Cafe’ with some friends that met us there and then shopped around at all the vendors surrounding the old courthouse.  Aidan and I got to try a lavender cookie, lavender lemonade and lavender ice cream.  I had no idea that you could do so much with lavender!  I stopped into the “Hill Country Lavender” tent and bought some lavender foaming hand soap, lavender bug repellant and a sachet of  lavender to put in my undies drawer.  While I was shopping for all that fun stuff, Aidan cornered Shelley in a booth with tons of puppets and a very cool doorway puppet theatre.  I think Aidan was trying to convince Shelley to buy her one or twelve of those puppets.  😉  Further into the festival I found a booth selling Lavender Margarita Mix from Miller Creek Lavender Farms.  They had a great deal, 3 for $18.50!  So, I had to snatch up 3 of those suckers.  I just got a new pitcher and margarita glasses at Market Square the day before so now I have something to put in them (I do still need to get some tequila, though!)  There was another booth (Simply Home Design) that I could’ve spent a fortune at with beautiful frames and wall hangings made from ceiling tiles.  After spending about 2 hours in the heat (and Aidan sucking down a bottle of Lipton Green Tea like it was nothing), we decided it was time to head out.  I’m very excited that we live so close to so many great Hill Country Festivals.  We fully plan on taking advantage of this while we’re here. 

Blog 12

