Only a day separates Aidan’s birthday from Mother’s Day, this year as well as the year she was born, and I love it that way.  Such a wonderful reminder of who made me Mama.

Aidan and Mama, the day after she was born

Aidan and Mama, on her first birthday (I was on the phone with her Daddy who was at Basic Training at Ft. Knox) I love that my precious Granddaddy was watching us quietly from behind.

Aidan and Mama, on our way to Aunt Tara and Uncle Chad’s wedding in Birmingham, Alabama, shortly after Aidan turned 2 (Daddy was deployed to Iraq)

Aidan and Mama, at the Halloween Carnival at First Presbyterian Church, Columbus, GA, Aidan was 3 (Daddy was at Officer Candidate School at Ft. Benning, GA)

Aidan and Mama, Easter at St. Andrew’s Lutheran Church, shortly before she turned 4 (Daddy was at MIOBC in Ft. Huachuca, AZ.)

Aidan and I have spent a lot of time together, just us, with Daddy gone so much.  I can only hope that we’re building the kind of relationship that my mother and I have.

