I found an old chair at the local Goodwill about a month ago (maybe longer, I really can’t remember when I bought it).  I liked the design and lines of it but not the fabric on the cushion or the dirty waxy varnish/stain that was on it.  It pretty much sat in my living room for a while until inspiration struck and I finally figured out what I wanted to do with it.

First off, I took the seat off and took it outside where I attacked it with liquid sandpaper.  Let me tell y’all, that is the greatest stuff ever in the history of the world.  Sure you have to wear chemical resistant gloves for fear that it’d eat your skin off but it saved me from having to sand off who knows how many layers of stain and varnish.


Front view of the chair.  The main reason I went with liquid sandpaper is because I was afraid of sanding off all that detail up on the chairback.  I definitely wanted to maintain that.


Partway through the liquid sanding process.  Some places got cleaner than others.  Oh well.


Close up on the detail after I got most of the varnish off.


After painting it black (I heart spray latex paint.) 🙂


The finished product!


Aidan was dying to sit in it. I hadn’t let her sit in it at all since I bought it (it was ricketty…I tightened everything up). She LOVES it since I put the zebra print on the seat.

Chair………………………………$9.99 (Goodwill)
Fabric……………………………..$10.49/yd (Hobby Lobby)
Black Spray Latex Paint………..$5.99 (Hobby Lobby)
Liquid Sandpaper……………….$5.49 (Home Depot)
Chemical Resistant Gloves……..$2.99 (Home Depot)
1/4″ Staples………………………..$1.99 (PX)
________________________________________
Total………………………………….$36.94 (Not including taxes)

Not too shabby, eh?

I’d really like to eventually convert all my wood furniture in the living room over to black so now I’m on the look out for cheap/free wood furniture to rehab and fix up!  This could become addicting!

