I volunteered to advise a Craft Club at my school with 4th through 8th graders. We start tomorrow and I honestly don’t know what I’ve gotten myself into. The kids are really excited about it but I think their enthusiasm is what’s making me nervous. I sort of would like it to be just a calm nice environment for us to sit around, sew, crochet, knit, scrapbook, etc. Some of these kids (2-3 5th graders in particular) are just WAY excited. I guess I shouldn’t rain on their parade. Maybe after the first few meetings they’ll calm down and we’ll have quiet crafting time.

Whoever thinks that DIY and crafting is going the way of the dodo doesn’t know my kids! I got the idea for starting the club last week during library time. I was talking to my upper graders (4th grade and up) and I found that nearly all of them craft, 5 of them got sewing machines for Christmas (!). They knit, they crochet, they scrapbook, they make cards, they sew. I asked them if I created a club, would they be interested. Good grief they nearly knocked me over. We start this Thursday. I’m planning on bringing my sewing machine, some flannel, thread, pins, scissors and a pattern to make pajama pants. I really don’t want to spend my time showing 30 girls how to sew. I’m hoping other girls follow through and bring their machines like they say they’re going to and the groups that form up are small.

So tell me…have I lost my mind?