I got this email from the head registrar chick:

Tara,

I did receive the results for your DSST exam in Human Geography.  Unfortunately, CSU does not accept DSST exams for transfer.  That is why you were not awarded any credit.  CSU does accept exam credit from CLEP, Advanced Placement, and International Baccalaureate. 

Since DSST scores and credit are reviewed by the American Council on Education (ACE), it may be possible for CSU to accept this exam.  I will send the information to the academic chair of geography, Dr. XXX XXX.  If she agrees, she would make a recommendation to her dean, who in turn would make a recommendation to the Vice-President.

I will keep you informed throughout the process. If you have any questions about how this will affect your certification, please contact the College of Education.

First of all, the DSST is a series of tests originally designed for service members but now includes civilians.  We are in a MILITARY town and CSU caters (or claims they cater) to military people.  Someone explain to me why they wouldn’t accept this exam?  I’m slightly irritated but am hoping that the geography department academic chair will have mercy on me and accept the credit.  The reason I took the DSST exam was because it’s the only one that offered a geography test.  Last fall was just a tad hectic for me, ya know with having a deployed husband, working full time, taking 6 hours of courses and having a toddler at home by myself to deal with.  I just flat out didn’t have time to take a stinkin’ geography class!  Hope, pray or wish, whatever floats your boat, that the university will accept the course and let me get certified.

