I spent the last weekend of my spring break in New Orleans with my 3 best friends from college.  Every year we try to get together, no kids, no husbands…just us, catching up and having a girls’ weekend.  We’re all spread out across the south now, one in Texas, one in Arkansas, I’m in Georgia and one in New Orleans, Louisiana so that’s where we met up this time.  Here are a few of my favorite shots from the weekend.

Lee Circle

I have a bit of a thing for the tops of columns, this one is on the Hibernia Bank Building

I adore the iron scrollwork on the houses in the French Quarter

Pink and green…so happy

Taking place while we were there was the French Quarter Festival.  This was one of the main stages along the Mississippi Riverwalk where we listened to some jazz bands and caught up on each other’s lives.

Walking back to the streetcar stop we spotted this “Pope-fiti” and had to take a picture of it.  I must say, I’ve never been to a city that has such fun and innovative and even inspiring graffiti as New Orleans!

 

My friend Becky, in front of Amanda’s house, a very cool old New Orleans duplex with original hardwoods and pocket doors.

New Orleans is full of gorgeous, funky, cool and even spooky old houses.  This is one, along St. Charles where we waited on the streetcar to take us to the Quarter.  We made up stories of who they kept in the tower, if it was haunted, etc.  I was reminded of Flowers in the Attic, and had to share that story with the girls…I was a serious VC Andrews addict in middle school!

One of the St. Charles streetcars that took us to and from the Quarter.

Along the Mardi Gras parade routes (part of St. Charles is one of them) the trees are covered in beads and pretty much stay that way year-round.

A cool old sign on Bourbon Street.  I’ve been to NOLA for Mardi Gras twice and the Sugar Bowl once…I must say, I like it much better when none of that stuff is going on!

Pirates Alley runs along side the St. Louis Cathedral.  I love the street signs there.

St. Louis Cathedral as it’s facing Jackson Square

Just a lovely little scene I saw on a balcony over looking the Old U.S. Mint where another stage was set up.

More inspiring and uplifting graffiti.  This was spotted just below the balcony pictured above.  I actually spotted my first piece of happy graffiti when arrived in the Quarter but I only had my camera phone with me and I’m still trying to figure out how to get them from the phone to the computer.  It said “Sing Anyway.”  I loved it.

 

All over the Quarter, in all of the little shops you saw merchandise about rebuilding New Orleans.  I spotted this piece of graffiti right before it got dark. 

The Quarter was beautiful, seemingly untouched.  We did see some homes along St. Charles and elsewhere that were undergoing construction and renovation as a result of the wind and water.  We didn’t venture into the areas that sustained the most damage, we stayed mostly in the main part of the city.

The trip was just what the dr. ordered.  Aidan had a blast at her aunt & uncle’s and I got to reenergize myself with my 3 best girlfriends in a “blissfully child-free zone” (which is hard to come by as a mom and an almost-teacher!)

