I added a couple of items to Aidan’s room today.

The first is this little coat hook.  At the mall weekend before last, a woman and her husband had a booth set up where they were customizing and selling these coat hooks, growth charts, lap desks and door plaques.  I got this one for Aidan and gave it to her for Easter.  She loves seeing her name on things and I hung it low enough so she can hang up her jacket when she gets home from school.

The second addition was this hairbow holder that I made her.  I bought a bare wooden plaque, some paint and a prepainted wooden shoe.  I painted the plaque white, decoupaged the lettering on from my computer, glued on the shoe and then sprayed it with a clear gloss.  If I could go back, I wouldn’t have decoupaged the paper on because it doesn’t look as good as it could have.  I would adhere it with spray on craft adhesive and then just cover over it with the clear gloss.  Then I staple-gunned the ribbons to the back and nailed a picture hanger to it and hung it up.  It’s a great way for me to keep up with her growing bow collection.

