Everyday at school I see a red bulletin board with zebra print border.  I cannot begin to explain how much seeing this board inspires me.  The past few weeks I’ve been DYING to make something, anything in zebra and red.

I’ve always loved zebra print and have always paired it up with hot pink but now I’m loving it with deep red.  Today I cut out a new pattern, Simplicity 3511.

I’m making the first top in the left column and the pants from the top of the right column.  The sleeves and body of the top are in zebra print and the yoke and band along the bottom are in red.  The pants are zebra and I plan on adding a red ruffle along the bottoms of the pants legs.  I have red ric-rac that I plan on using as well.  I’d also like to find some zebra print grosgrain ribbon to make a hair bow out of.  I’ll be sure to show y’all the finished outfit!

It just goes to show, inspiration can come in the oddest places, even a middle school bulletin board!

