I finally finished my major sewing project for the holidays.  I made matching nightgowns for my daughter and niece.  I chose fabric called “Lonestar Christmas” because they’re both Texas girls (Aidan was born there, Kaelyn wasn’t but we put her feet in Texas soil, that I brought with me to KY, soon after she was born).  The red fabric I used on the skirt has ropes, sheriff’s stars, holly, Christmas trees, cowboys riding bucking broncos, wagon wheels, arrows and spurs along with the words “Lonestar” written in rope.  The aqua fabric on the sleeves and yoke has a small bandanna/paisley motif in red as well as holly and white stars.  I love the color combination and with both girls having blue eyes, I think the blue will bring out their eyes.  I used Butterick 4647, view A.

I’m pleased with how they came together…I just need to work faster!  I’ve had this fabric since friggin’ OCTOBER!  I had all these plans of getting done early.  What is it they say…”the best laid plans of mice and men”?  But, they’re done and that’s all that matters.

This weekend I’m working on eyemasks and crayon rolls and aprons…maybe a doll, depending on my energy level.  We shall see.

