Boy, it’s feast or famine around here as far as posting goes!  I guess I’m just in a post-y mood today!

I had the urge to make lunch today after church.  I made these incredible Tangelo/White Wine Glazed Pork Chops.  If I hadn’t made them, I wouldn’t have believed I made them.  They were that good.  Aidan even ate a chop and a half!

I didn’t really use a recipe which is rare for me.  I just sort of made it up as I went along.  I defrosted some pork chops and then let them sit with brown sugar, salt, fresh ground pepper and rosemary on it.  While that was sitting, I put a bottle of white wine and some chopped garlic in a pot to boil and start reducing.  When it had reduced down to about a cup, I put the juice of 5 tangelos (my fundraiser delivery came in, that’s why I used tangelos, I think any citrus fruit would work here) in along with about 1/4 cup brown sugar and let it reduce further.  While that was reducing I put some olive oil in a skillet and let it heat to almost smoking and then seared the chops on both sides and then put them in a pan, poured the drippings over them and put them in an oven preheated to 400 degrees.  After about 5 minutes, the reduction was ready and I poured it over the chops and let them bake for another 5-10 minutes.  They were OMIGOSH good.  The glaze a bit of tartness that worked so well with the pork.  Everytime I make pork I think, why don’t I make it more often?  But I still keep buying chicken.  My brain obviously isn’t on when I’m at the commissary.  😉  Anyway, this turned out really well and I’m pretty proud of it.  I served it with whole kernel corn and mashed potatoes (ok, I didn’t get fancy with the sides, I still have a 2 year old to feed!) 

