I found this meme on Scrapsadaisy.  Where was I 10, 20 and 30 years ago?

10 Years Ago – I was 20 years old and a junior at A&M.  Well…sort of.  I was 20 but I wasn’t at A&M that fall…I earned what I refer to as “my bonus semester at home.”  My sophomore year I made some unbelievably crappy grades.  I hadn’t learned how to balance my academic, social and extra-curricular lives and my GPA showed it.  So, A&M invited me to go home, take some summer school courses, do well and spend the fall semester thinking about what I want to do with my life.  So, I went to the University of Houston, waited tables and got my life in order.  While I hated not being at school that fall, it was the best thing that ever happened to me.  I got my head on straight, learned how to balance the different parts of my life and decided to major in something that I enjoy (history) rather than something that I think might make me money (biomedical science or business…I majored in both).  I did graduate from A&M with a BA in history and wound up getting an MA as well…heck, I’m still in school!  Not bad for someone who almost flunked out!

20 Years Ago – Lets see…I was 10 years old, it was 1987 so I guess I was in the first semester of 5th grade.  My teacher’s name was Mrs. Henderson and I just adored her.  I had bad hair, liked to read reference books and had the classroom nickname of the “Walking Dictionary”.  Mrs. Henderson whet our little fifth grade appetites for adventure by offering to take any of us who were interested and could afford it to Washington D.C.  Two boys and I went with some kids from other schools.  I was the youngest and smallest and got lost quite frequently…well, I didn’t think I was lost…everyone else did, though!

30 Years Ago –  I was almost 6 months old and coming into my last few months as an only child.  My brother and I are 16 months apart so my mom got pregnant with him when I was 7 months old.  YIKES!  I don’t remember much from back then.  I know we were living in a tiny little town in the Panhandle of Texas, in the same neighborhood as my paternal grandmother.  We had a Boston Terrier named Prissy and I looked just like Aidan did at 6 months old.

This was fun!  Join in!

