After my dentist appointment this morning (bleah, I hate teeth cleanings), I ran by Hobby Lobby and got some buttons for the dress I made yesterday and then went to Sweet Treasures, a local fabric/smocking supply store that a friend of mine recommended.  Oh. My. Goodness.  I was in fabric heaven.  They had the most beautiful/funky/sweet/cool fabrics I’ve seen.  I had to exercise some serious restraint in there!  I saw this adorable dress hanging in the store (which is a converted old house…they even have bolts of fabric in the bathtub!) that they allowed me to photograph for inspiration!

I bought these fabrics to make it with (in this order with coordinating ric rac):

I also found buttons covered in the turquoise checked fabric that are perfect!  I’m so excited to start on this project.  I’d like to get this dress made as well as my dress (from an earlier post) before we go to Birmingham for my step-sister’s wedding.

Now all I have to do is figure out how to alter my trusty A-line dress pattern.  I don’t think making it into 3 parts will be too difficult but I want to widen the straps like the inspiration dress.  Any links on altering patterns that I should check out?

