I found this little meme on one of my favorite message boards and thought it’d be fun to do here.

1)  My sewing machine  (Brother LS2125i)  I got it for my birthday and I am absolutely loving it!  It’s on sale right now at Amazon for $78.88 with free shipping!

2)  What Would Jackie Do?: An Inspired Guide to Distinctive Living  I checked this book out of the library on a whim last week while searching for books on sewing and potty training.  I’m about halfway through and am absolutely loving it.  It gives great advice about editing one’s life.  I am quite guilty of “quantity over quality” in various aspects of my own life, particularly in my wardrobe.  I’m learning to edit it and keep only those items I can’t live without, that are of high quality and those that have particularly strong sentimental attachment (such as the dress I wore on mine and Ryan’s first date and the dress I wore when we got engaged).    The book is available here.

3)  The local library  We are working very hard on getting on a budget and not making a mess of our finances anymore, which is hard for a bibliophile such as myself who wants to go spend way too much money at Barnes & Noble or Amazon.com.  We’re very lucky that our town has a fantastic library that was recently constructed not too far from us.  The children’s area is fanastic with bookshelves right at Aidan’s height and tons of DVDs that she’s yet to see.  The adult section is very wide-ranging, I’ve yet to search for a particular title and not find it.  Your library: check it out!

4)  Vintage sheets  During Spring Break back in April, I happened across an adorable twin flat sheet in pink, yellow, blue and spring green (my favorite colors for spring and summer).  For a whopping $2.50 at my local Goodwill store, I snatched that baby up.  I had no clue what to do with it but I’d seen lots of people, Posie, in particular, who have made such cute things from vintage sheets so I bought it and put it away.  Today I pulled it out to make a dress for Aidan.  It turned out so cute and I have tons of fabric left over!  I have no buttons for it yet so I’ll get a pic up when I get it finished.

5)  Johnson’s Extra Conditioning Baby Shampoo Aidan has fine hair with curls at the ends that tangle horribly.  When I discovered this shampoo at the commissary I had to get it.  It keeps her wet hair from tangling and doesn’t weigh it down, a big plus since her hair is so fine.  The only drawback is that it doesn’t smell as good as the Johnson’s Baby Shampoo with Natural Lavender (I love sniffing her head after I’ve washed her hair in this stuff).  They should make an extra conditioning formula with the lavender fragrance.

 

